Posted in parenting

♡ Mindfulness ♡

One of my kids is in a DBT therapy program right now. part of that requires a parent to go through the program with him to help reinforce coping skills outside of group.

The Group is being taught about mindfulness. Which focuses a lot in staying present in the moment, and different types of coping skills.

I feel like this has been really helpful for me. In addition to my own personal therapy.

I have been told by both of my therapists that the practice of “mindfulness” could be a good tool for me to help keep me from destabilizing in times of stress or anxiety. I’ve been coming closer to being ready to start focusing on that more. I feel like I’m A little more able to refocus on the things that I can control when my anxiety is flaring.

I’m trying to work on managing my own stability, for my own quality of life, and so that I can offer more stability for the kids and John. The biggest part of that for me is self care. Another part of that includes recognizing triggers whether it is people places or situations so that I can be more self aware (mindful) of my reactions while I’m exposed to those triggers, increasing stress tolorence, reducing exposure to those triggers, and looking for solutions to problems rather than just reacting to them. If its not something I can “solve”, I need to utalize healthy coping skills to tolerate a situation that I cannot change.

I still have a lot of work to do on the reacting peice of this equation, but I do feel good about my progress.

Author:

Im a stay at home mom of 3, and the ringleader of a very chaotic home, trying to juggle the needs and challanges of our chaotic household by relying heavily on the flylady.net system.

Leave a comment